Sections in this category:
United States - Statistics
A Call to Action: Changing the Culture of Drinking at US Colleges
This report highlights the growing epidemic of college drinking and provides suggestions and recommended strategies to combat the problem.
The Critical Thinking Initiative
Started and run by two professors from the University of St. Joseph (Steven J. Pearlman and David Carillo), the Critical Thinking Initiative collects and shares information on how to teach critical thinking skills across disciplines in higher education. This site links to their newsletter, blog, and podcast.
Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011
HUD: University-Community Partnerships: Current Practices Volume III
This report from HUD's Office of University Partnerships "celebrates the growing number of commitments that colleges and universities are making to their communities to provide better places in which to live, work, and learn".
Key Concepts in Education
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.
Measuring Up: The State-by-State Report Card for Higher Education
This is the first state-by-state report card for higher education, rating academic institutions on their performance in five categories: preparation, participation, affordability, completion, and economic and civic beliefs.
NEA Almanac of Higher Education
Free online version of the Almanac
Reinventing Undergraduate Education: A Blueprint for America's Research Universities
This site presents the report of the Boyer Commission on Educating Undergraduates in the Research University. The report outlines the successes and failures of these institutions in undergraduate education and presents new initiatives for improving it.
The Sexual Victimization of College Women
The Department of Justice report offers a comprehensive look into the prevalence and nature of sexual assault occurring at American colleges.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
Students with Disabilities in Postsecondary Education: A Profile of Preparation, Participation, and Outcomes
This statistical analysis report offers a comprehensive profile of students with disabilities enrolled in postsecondary education. It examines preparation for postsecondary education, explores how the students fared in school, and looks at early labor market outcomes and admission rates to graduate schools. PDF file; loads slowly.
Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001
Encyclopedia of Education
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Mortensen Library Reference BF318 .E53 1992
Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002
United States - Statistics
Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955
Years Covered: 1933-1955
This digitized version the print index, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted By American Universities, searches nearly 100,000 American dissertations by title, author, and school, spanning the years of 1933-1955.
Dissertations and Theses @ University of Hartford (Proquest)
Dissertations by University of Hartford students. Includes full text for most, especially those published after 1996.
Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations and includes links to other databases of electronic theses and dissertations.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Sections in this category:
ACE Academic Costume Code
The whys, hows, whens and wheres of cap and gown from the American Council on Education.
The Association of College Honor Societies
The ACHS sets the standards for the nation's academic honor societies. Here you can find topics of interest to honors students as well as lists of sources for researching grant applications and a directory of other chapters and member societies.
Certification Requirement for 50 States
Teacher certification requirements for each state and links to position announcements are provided at this site.
Connects students with colleges and scholarships across interests and multiple selection criteria.
Searchable index of colleges offering degrees by "distance learning". You can search by degree, certificate, or course.
Colleges & Universities in the United States of America
Links to the homepages of American colleges and universities granting bachelor or advanced degrees, with an overview of institution type and degrees offered.
Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.
Educational Psychology Interactive (Valdosta University)
An extensive collection of full text articles, models, and links to Internet resources, as well as bibliographies of print materials, on topics in educational psychology.
Five College Archives Digital Access Project
A developing digital archive of more than 24,000 items dealing primarily with women's history and the history of women's education at the Five Colleges(Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith, UMASS). The materials are primarily textual documents, handwritten manuscripts and printed publications.
Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education
This core guide for information literacy was developed by the Association of College and Research Libraries to aid faculty in introducing students to research methodology and library skills.
Higher Education (National Education Association)
Provides access to the NEA Higher Education research center, online edition of The Advocate, and a Hot Topics list.
Higher Education in the US of America and Canada
Directory by name or selected major programs of colleges and universities in the US and Canada.
Searchable postings of jobs at all levels on over 600 US college and university campuses. Also provides a place to post your resume.
History Matters is an excellent resource for high school and university history teachers, offering hundreds of primary documents and audio clips, an impressive webliography, and a useful reference section which links to resources on standards, citing and evaluating websites, and understanding copyright and fair use laws.
Materials from Massachusetts Institute of Technology faculty's courses, including lecture notes, reading lists, and problem sets from hundreds of courses in all academic disciplines.
Secrets of the SAT (Frontline)
An explanation of the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) and how it could affect students' academic futures.
The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.
TED-Ed: Lessons Worth Sharing
This offshoot of TED.com showcases lessons for education. The primary focus is on high school and college level learners, and the YouTube videos include quizzes, additional resources and discussion points. Lessons can be customized for assignments.
Writing and Presenting your Thesis or Dissertation
These guides are very practical and focus on the "quasi-political" aspects of gaining approval for your thesis or dissertation.
Connecticut Department of Higher Education
Provides information about colleges and universities in Connecticut, financial aid programs, alternate routes to teacher certification, and veterans program approval. Full text reports included.