Sections in this category:
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Encyclopedia of Ethics
Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers. Also in print Mortensen Library Oversized [BJ63 .E45 2001]
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Sections in this category:
American Bar Association Resource
The Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute underwrites this digital library of the codes and rules setting standards for the professional conduct of lawyers.
Applied Ethics Resources
Links to codes of ethics of professional societies and organizations, an on-line discussion forum, and specific links to topics of professional interest.
Bioethics Internet Project (U. of Pennsylvania)
The Center for Bioethics contains timely special reports, an extensive virtual library, and a Bioethics for Beginners Website with educational tools to help students learn more about what bioethics means and how to engage in bioethics research.
Biomedical and Health Care Ethics Resources on WWW
Interdisciplinary research for the advancement of applied ethics in the fields of health care and biomedical.
Centre for Computing and Social Responsibility
Information from an organization looking at the social and ethical impacts of information and communication technologies. See especially "Resources" for full reports and useful links.
The End of Life: Exploring Death in America
Transcripts and audio of the acclaimed series segments.
Ethics in Computing (North Carolina State University)
Covering a wide variety of topics related to the ethical use of computers. Includes free speech, e-commerce, social issues, intellectual property, etc.
Institute for Business and Professional Ethics (DePaul University)
Provides a calendar of ethics conferences and workshops with diverse links to ethics resources in both business and the professions.
Georgetown University site for primary legal materials and gateways
Library and Information Services Gateway (Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University)
Offers information on the ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of healthcare.
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
Specialized collection of materials relevant to medical ethics and biomedical research.
Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
Intended to provide engineers, scientists, and their students with resources "useful for understanding and addressing ethically significant problems that arise in their work life."
News and events about privacy issues. Note especially the Workplace Surveillance Project, which includes articles and interviews on the issue, as well as the Legal Database of case law.
Romanell Center for Clinical Ethics and Humanities (University of Buffalo)
Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.
List of articles and public releases scientific disciplines, geared toward education. Searchable.