Sections in this category: General Resources | Encyclopedias
General Resources
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
Alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children's books from across the world.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
Essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world.
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
For practitioners working with children from birth to the end of the foundation stage, and for students following courses in early childhood education.
Key Concepts in Education
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.
Key Concepts in Teaching Primary Mathematics
Covering the key principles and concepts in the teaching and learning of mathematics in elementary schools, this text provides trainee and practicing teachers with a quick and easy reference to what they need to know for their course, and in the classroom.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
Alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children's books from across the world.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
Essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world.
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
For practitioners working with children from birth to the end of the foundation stage, and for students following courses in early childhood education.
Key Concepts in Education
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.
Key Concepts in Teaching Primary Mathematics
Covering the key principles and concepts in the teaching and learning of mathematics in elementary schools, this text provides trainee and practicing teachers with a quick and easy reference to what they need to know for their course, and in the classroom.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
Encyclopedias
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Comprehensive resource on Children's Literature.
Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001 Check Status
Encyclopedia of Education
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Mortensen Library Reference BF318 .E53 1992 Check Status
Comprehensive resource on Children's Literature.
Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001 Check Status
Encyclopedia of Education
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Mortensen Library Reference BF318 .E53 1992 Check Status
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
This database indexes abstracts of over 4,000 picture books for children. It is designed as a tool for teachers creating literature-based thematic units for all disciplines.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
Ten children's book award lists are available on this site. Search options allow the browser to tailor a reading list to a particular child by age, setting, historical period, ethnicity, language, genre, and gender.
ERIC (Proquest)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
This database indexes abstracts of over 4,000 picture books for children. It is designed as a tool for teachers creating literature-based thematic units for all disciplines.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
Ten children's book award lists are available on this site. Search options allow the browser to tailor a reading list to a particular child by age, setting, historical period, ethnicity, language, genre, and gender.
ERIC (Proquest)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
K8 Science
An online educational resource for the life, physical, and earth/space sciences appropriate for grades K-8, with steaming videos, teacher resources, and science news.
Blank Slate: The Story of a Charter School's First Year
This website posts articles from the New York Times' ongoing series on a charter school established in the Bronx.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes, and professional topics. Focus is on pre-K-8th grade.
CBC On line!
This site provides a rich source of information and links to children's literature, guides for authors and illustrators, and pages for parents and teachers.
Children's Literature Web Guide
Comprehensive resource of children's books, Best Books list, award winners, information about authors and illustrators; full text of some works.
Common Core State Standards in Connecticut
Provided by the Connecticut State Department of Education, this website has links to the Academic Office Newsletter as well as state standards for Common Core changes in mathematics and English language arts for grades K-12. It also includes classroom resources and rubrics for the Tri-State Collaborative (Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island) and a grade-by-grade guide for parents.
Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.
Grimms' Fairy Tales
Collections of the Brothers Grimm tales as published in various English language editions, presented by the World of Tales.
Homeschool World
Oriented in eight major sections, this site is an effective, easy to navigate first stop for anyone wanting an initial look at home schooling with religious orientations.
Jon's Homeschool Resource
Presented by a home schooler, this site includes internet resources that support parents who choose to home school their children. A valuable resource is the list of local support groups for 45 US states. Support pages also point to state laws.
Just for Kids Who Love Books
Book reviews, young readers' comments, and links to book, series, award, writing, author pages, and other bookish resources.
Literature for Children
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Department of Special Collections at several libraries of the State University System of Florida. It is a collection of digitized titles published predominantly in the United States and Great Britain from the 17th through the 20th centuries and is significant for researchers who study historical, cultural, social, and literary aspects of children's literature.
Multimedia Math Glossary
An illustrated glossary of math terminology for grades 1-8. A variety of tables of symbols, weights, and measurements is included from the 3rd through 8th grades.
National Charter School Research Guide
Details the process of creating a charter school and discusses the charter school concept, a current education trend.
The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.
An online educational resource for the life, physical, and earth/space sciences appropriate for grades K-8, with steaming videos, teacher resources, and science news.
Blank Slate: The Story of a Charter School's First Year
This website posts articles from the New York Times' ongoing series on a charter school established in the Bronx.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes, and professional topics. Focus is on pre-K-8th grade.
CBC On line!
This site provides a rich source of information and links to children's literature, guides for authors and illustrators, and pages for parents and teachers.
Children's Literature Web Guide
Comprehensive resource of children's books, Best Books list, award winners, information about authors and illustrators; full text of some works.
Common Core State Standards in Connecticut
Provided by the Connecticut State Department of Education, this website has links to the Academic Office Newsletter as well as state standards for Common Core changes in mathematics and English language arts for grades K-12. It also includes classroom resources and rubrics for the Tri-State Collaborative (Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island) and a grade-by-grade guide for parents.
Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.
Grimms' Fairy Tales
Collections of the Brothers Grimm tales as published in various English language editions, presented by the World of Tales.
Homeschool World
Oriented in eight major sections, this site is an effective, easy to navigate first stop for anyone wanting an initial look at home schooling with religious orientations.
Jon's Homeschool Resource
Presented by a home schooler, this site includes internet resources that support parents who choose to home school their children. A valuable resource is the list of local support groups for 45 US states. Support pages also point to state laws.
Just for Kids Who Love Books
Book reviews, young readers' comments, and links to book, series, award, writing, author pages, and other bookish resources.
Literature for Children
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Department of Special Collections at several libraries of the State University System of Florida. It is a collection of digitized titles published predominantly in the United States and Great Britain from the 17th through the 20th centuries and is significant for researchers who study historical, cultural, social, and literary aspects of children's literature.
Multimedia Math Glossary
An illustrated glossary of math terminology for grades 1-8. A variety of tables of symbols, weights, and measurements is included from the 3rd through 8th grades.
National Charter School Research Guide
Details the process of creating a charter school and discusses the charter school concept, a current education trend.
The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.