Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
Ten children's book award lists are available on this site. Search options allow the browser to tailor a reading list to a particular child by age, setting, historical period, ethnicity, language, genre, and gender.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.
Oriented in eight major sections, this site is an effective, easy to navigate first stop for anyone wanting an initial look at home schooling with religious orientations.
Jon's Homeschool Resource
Presented by a home schooler, this site includes internet resources that support parents who choose to home school their children. A valuable resource is the list of local support groups for 45 US states. Support pages also point to state laws.
Almost two thousand kids' song lyrics are available and organized alphabetically and categorically. Patriotic and holiday songs included, too.
Literature for Children
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Department of Special Collections at several libraries of the State University System of Florida. It is a collection of digitized titles published predominantly in the United States and Great Britain from the 17th through the 20th centuries and is significant for researchers who study historical, cultural, social, and literary aspects of children's literature.