E-Commerce Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Careers | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | International - Statistics

General Resources

ACH Rules: A Complete Guide to Rules & Regulations Governing the ACH Network
Mortensen Library Reference HG2321 .A28 (University Affiliated patrons may get online Password from Mortensen Reference Office) Check Status

Africa Development Indicators
Current Africa Development Indicators for download with access to statistics from 1965 to present. Have print (2002) Mortensen Library Reference HC800 .A475

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002 Check Status

Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HC79.C6 G665 2003 Check Status

E-Commerce and Development Report 2001- Current (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development)
Analysis and information about and for developing nations in particular on the impact of electronic commerce on economic development.

Economic Indicators (Forbes)
Current Economic Indicator through Forbes web site including "Beige Book"

Economic Indicators (United States GPO)
Current plus archive back to 1998 of United States Economic Indicators. Library has print (1967-1993, 1995-1997) Mortensen Library Periodicals HC101 .A186

Economic Report of the President Transmitted to Congress
Current plus archive back to 1996 of Economic Report of the President. Library has print (1951, 1954-1975, 1978-1991, 1993-1994) Mortensen Library Shelves HC106.5 .A27

Everyday Finance
Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business. Check Status

Guide to Economic Indicators
Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, from Average Weekly Earnings to Value of the Dollar, as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.

Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of its Member Nations
Mortensen Library Reference HF1746 .H36 1998 Check Status

Information Economy Report
Annual report for the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, analyzing trends and issues regarding information and communication technologies and their use for, and effect on, trade and development.

North American Industry Classification System, United States
Searchable and printable full text of the current and older codes back to the 2002 report.

OECD Main Economic Indicators
Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .O68 (current 2 years) Check Status

US Industry & Trade Outlook
Mortensen Library Reference HC106.82 .U16 (Have print of 2000, last printed) Check Status

World Economic and Social Survey
Full Text of current World Economic Social Survey by the United Nations. Library has (1994-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC59 .A16

World Economic Outlook: a Survey by the Staff of the International Monetary Fund
IMF provides full text access to surveys dating back to 1993 with links to statistical database (1999-present). Library holds print (1981-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .W7979

World Economic Situation and Prospects
United Nations information on World Economics Full Text from 1947-present.

World Economy: Historical Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HF1359 .M333 2003 Check Status


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition) Check Status

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition) Check Status


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of E-Business
Terminology relating to e-commerce.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .N49 2008 Check Status

Wall Street Lingo: Thousands of Investment Terms Explained Simply
Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007 Check Status


Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.


International - Statistics

OECD in Figures
Full text for 2000-current available.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Statistics

General Resources

ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Emerald Fulltext
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Hoovers Company Records
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.

Mergent Online
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.


Statistics

Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
Free service containing more recent financial data for any recent business day than previously printed in the Wall Street Journal. Information and statistics on leading financial markets and national exchanges from across the globe. Trading stocks, options, commodities, benchmark indexes, etc. are included.



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

OECD Economic Outlook
Current full text online. Selected full text for previous issues. Library has print Mortensen Library Periodicals HC10 .O18



Sections in this category: General Resources | Statistics | Statistics- United States

General Resources

Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade
A cooperative project of the UNESCAP, UNCTAD, the WTO, and trade research and academic institutions from 15 member nations, provides resources for policy makers and researchers on East, South, and Southeast Asia on international trade policy and facilitation.

ClickZ Stats
Summaries of market research reports. Search or browse. Focus is on Web marketing.

E-Business Forum (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Wide variety of information on global e-commerce Includes daily news, best practices, research, country backgrounders, etc. Links to other EIU resources.

E-commerce Times
Daily Newsletter about business on the Net. Includes news, product information, advice for start-ups, etc.

E-commerce-Guide.com
Links to information about books, articles, journals and other research on all aspects of e-commerce.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Ghostsites: The Museum of E-Failure
Screen shots from failed websites, memorializing the dot bomb. Recent additions are followed by a long alphabetical list with one or more links.

Identity Theft Resource Center
Information and resources for individuals to prevent and recover from identity theft.

NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement)
Full text and other information for NAFTA.

Roger Clark's Electronic Commerce Pages
Full-text of Clarke's papers on e-commerce (he is a consultant and Fellow at the Australian National University) as well as extensive links to related resources.

Television Bureau of Advertising
Statistics and analysis of television markets and advertising.


Statistics

ClickZ Stats
Summaries of market research reports. Search or browse. Focus is on Web marketing.


Statistics- United States

Federal Reserve Board Statistics
Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annually released data from the Fed, gathered in one place. Selected historical statistics also available.