Curriculum- Fine Arts Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Encyclopedias | United States - Statistics

General Resources

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011 Check Status

Key Concepts in Education
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001 Check Status

Encyclopedia of Education
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002 Check Status


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011 Check Status


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

ERIC (Proquest)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


Annenberg Media Professional development programming for K-12 teachers
This site has information on professional development and access to some free quality resources via video on demand.

@rt room
Activities and many creative ideas for projects to get you thinking like an artist are available at this site. Artists birthdays, art trivia, and a treasure hunt are among the many topics offered here.

ArtsEdge
"The mission of ArtsEdge is to help artists, teachers and students gain access to and/or share information, resources, and ideas that support the arts as a core subject area in the K-12 curriculum."

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

EDSITEment
Provides Internet access designed for classroom use in exploring the borders that separate and connect aspects of our national experience. Excellent links to African Studies and the Latin American Network Information Center. K-12.

Fun and Joy Learning Center
Web-based tutorial for watercolor painting lessons, techniques, and information.

Jazz: A Film by Ken Burns
Jazz presents a history of this distinctly American form of music. There are links to lesson plans and activities for educators.

KIDiddles
Almost two thousand kids' song lyrics are available and organized alphabetically and categorically. Patriotic and holiday songs included, too.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Education Page
Using exhibits from the collections of The Metropolitan Museum of Art, this site offers a variety of educational experiences with images of works of art.

NAfME: The National Association for Music Education
NAfME (formerly MENC) provides music educators, students, and musicians with information on and links to education standards, career opportunities, financial aid, state-run festivals, and other resources.

National Gallery of Art Education Division
You can search the collection of the National Gallery using this site. Additionally, it provides various thematic tours designed to teach geography, history or language arts using fine arts.

The New York Philharmonic Kidzone
An interactive site where "users can hear instruments, watch interviews with musicians and follow the orchestra around the world" and learn about composers. Resource center with lesson plans for teachers.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

The Virtual Museum of Education Iconics
This site features images and interpretive texts concerning the iconic representations of instruction in the Western world down through the ages.