Brass Music Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: Books about the Horn | Books for Finding Music | Books for Horn Technique | Finding French Horn Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

Books about the Horn

The Early Horn: A Practical Guide
By John Humphries. Allen Library [ML955 H86]
A guide to 18th- and 19th-century horn playing, including practical insights on performance practice. Check Status

The Horn
By Kurt Janetzky & Bernhard Bruchle. Allen Library [ML955 J33 H67]
A history of the french horn from its origins to the mid-20th century. Check Status

See more books about the french horn


Books for Finding Music

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer. Check Status

Guide to the Solo Horn Repertoire
By Linda Dempf and Richard Seraphinoff. Allen Library Reference [ML128 H8 D45 2016 Check Status

Horn Bibliographie
By Bernard Bruchle. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H8 B]
Listing of works that include at least one french horn. 2 volumes, in German. Check Status

The Index of French Horn Music
Edited by Wayne Wilkins. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H8 W]
Listing of works that include at least one french horn. Be sure to read the explanation of abbreviations and symbols found at the beginning of the book. Check Status


Books for Horn Technique

The Horn Handbook
By Verne Reynolds. Allen Library [MT420 R49]
In addition to chapters on practicing and teaching, a large section of this book is spent providing advice on the performance of many prominent horn works as well as how to play in a variety of instrumental combinations, such as with piano, in a woodwind quintet, and in a brass quintet. Check Status

Horn Playing from the Inside Out: A Method for All Brass Musicians
By Eli Epstein. Allen Library Stacks [MT420 E67 2016] Check Status

Mastering the Horn's Low Register
By Randy C. Gardner. Allen Library Stacks [MT425 G37 M3 2002] Check Status


Finding French Horn Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

French horn solo
M80 - M84

French horn and piano
M255 - M259

French horn concertos (with orchestra)
M1028 - M1029

French horn concertos (with string orchestra)
M1128 - M1129

Method Books - French Horn
MT422 - MT425

Orchestral Excerpts - French Horn
MT426


Periodicals

Horn Call


Websites

British Horn Society
This site includes news, events, and links to French horn and classical music sites on the web.

International Horn Society
The IHS online includes news, resources, and online articles.



Sections in this category: Books about the Trombone | Books for Finding Music | Books for Trombone Technique | Finding Trombone Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

Books about the Trombone

The Trombone
By Trevor Herbert. Allen Library [ML965 H47 T76]
A comprehensive history of the trombone, from its origins through the 20th century. Check Status

The Trombone: Its History and Music, 1697 -1811
By David Guion. Allen Library Stacks [ML965 G96 T7]
An examination of the trombone in the 18th century, focusing on 18th-century writings on the trombone, the trombone and its music in France, and the trombone in choral music, opera, and the concert orchestra. Check Status

See more books about the trombone


Books for Finding Music

Annotated Guide to Trombone Solos with Band & Orchestra
By Vern Kagarice. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T84 K]
Provides duration, difficulty level, range, and a description for a large number of concertos and other works for trombone with large ensemble. Check Status

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer. Check Status

French Music for Low Brass Instruments: An Annotated Bibliography
By Mark J. Thompson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 T46]
Lists and describes solo and pedagogical music for low brass instruments. Description includes information such as duration, range, difficulty, special performance techniques, and more. Check Status


Books for Trombone Technique

A Modern Guide for Trombonists and Other Musicians
By Richard Begel. Allen Library [MT460 B44 M6]
Covers topics such as breathing, tone quality, intonation, auditions, trombone care and cleaning, and more. Check Status

The Trombonist's Handbook: A Complete Guide to Playing and Teaching the Trombone
Allen Library [MT460 F55]
Includes methods and techniques for embouchure, tone development, attacks and releases, slide technique, intonation, and more. Check Status


Finding Trombone Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Trombone solo
M90 - M94

Trombone and piano
M262 - M263

Trombone concertos (with orchestra)
M1032 - M1033

Trombone concertos (with string orchestra)
M1132 - M1133

Method Books - Trombone
MT462 - MT465

Orchestral Excerpts - Trombone
MT466


Periodicals

ITA Journal

Online Trombone Journal


Websites

International Trombone Association
The ITA site has information about the organization and its festivals, awards, and scholarships.



Sections in this category: Books about the Trumpet | Books for Finding Music | Books for Trumpet Technique | Finding Trumpet Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

Books about the Trumpet

Browse the Shelves: Books about the Trumpet
ML960 - ML963

Browse the Shelves: Trumpeter Biographies
ML419 (Includes other performer biographies)

Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T87 K64 2015]
Definitions; biographies of prominent performers, teachers, instrument makers, and composers; and entries on historic instruments, jazz techniques, and related non-Western instruments. Includes illustrations, a timeline, a list of prominent excerpts from the repertoire, and more. Check Status

Fanfares and Finesse: A Performer's Guide to Trumpet History and Literature
Allen Library [ML960 K64 F35]
A history of the trumpet, and a guide for historically-informed performance on both new and period-specific instruments. Check Status

The Music and History of the Baroque Trumpet Before 1721
By Don L. Smithers. Allen Library [ML960 S66]
A classic text for trumpet researchers. Check Status

The Trumpet (Wallace & McGrattan)
Allen Library [ML960 W34]
Charts the introduction of the trumpet into art music and its rise as a solo instrument from the Baroque era through the jazz age. Includes analyses of major works in the repertoire. Check Status

See more books about the trumpet


Books for Finding Music

Browse the Shelves: Books for Finding Trumpet Music
ML128 T87

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer. Check Status

Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra
By Norbert Carnovale. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T87 C1]
Provides descriptions for over 300 works for solo trumpet with orchestra. Also lists a number of works for multiple trumpets with orchestra. Check Status


Books for Trumpet Technique

Brass Tactics: Strategies for Modern Trumpet Playing
Allen Library [MT440 S19]
Concepts and simple to advanced exercises designed to improve your tone, attacks, tonguing, range, and flexibility. Check Status

Flexus: Trumpet Calisthenics for the Modern Improvisor
Allen Library [MT445 F755 F5]
Contains a wide range of technique-and endurance-building exercises. Check Status

Trumpet Pedagogy: A Compendium of Modern Teaching Techniques
By David Hickman. Allen Library [MT440 H62 T78]
A combination of the author's own thoughts on trumpet pedagogy as well as those of many other experts on trumpet playing. Includes section on technique, physical attributes, psychology, types of trumpets, and more. Check Status


Finding Trumpet Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Trumpet solo
M85 - M89

Trumpet and piano
M260 - M261

Trumpet concertos (with orchestra)
M1030 - M1031

Trumpet concertos (with string orchestra)
M1130 - M1131

Method Books - Trumpet
MT442 - MT445

Orchestral Excerpts - Trumpet
MT446


Periodicals

ITG Journal
Journal of the International Trumpet Guild


Websites

Downloads: Brass Music
Jay Lichtmann's home page provides music for trumpet solo and ensemble, brass quartets, quintets, and ensembles available for free download.

International Trumpet Guild
A good site that includes news, graded concert lists, employment opportunities, an index to ITG journals, links to other sites, etc.

TPO: Trumpet Player Online
A source for news, links, and forum discussions on the trumpet.



Sections in this category: Books about the Tuba/Euphonium | Books for Finding Music | Books for Tuba/Euphonium Technique | Finding Tuba/Euphonium Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

Books about the Tuba/Euphonium

Program Notes for the Solo Tuba
By Gary Bird (ed.). Allen Library [ML973 B57 P]
Provides program note-style descriptions for 88 significant works for tuba, mostly written by the composers. Check Status

A Treatise on the Tuba
By Donald Stauffer. Allen Library [MT480 S79]
Primarily an examination of the many different types of tubas, but also discusses the general mechanics of the tuba, some technique, a few prominent tubists, and more. Check Status

The Tuba Source Book
Compiled by Winston R. Morris and Edward R. Goldstein. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T88 M]
In addition to material that has been updated in Guide to the Tuba Repertoire (see Books for Finding Music below), this book includes a series of essays on doubling for tubists, jazz tuba, the free-lance tubist, and several on how to compose for the tuba. Check Status

See more books about the tuba/euphonium


Books for Finding Music

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer. Check Status

French Music for Low Brass Instruments: An Annotated Bibliography
By Mark J. Thompson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 T46]
Lists and describes solo and pedagogical music for low brass instruments. Description includes information such as duration, range, difficulty, special performance techniques, and more. Check Status

Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire
By Lloyd Bone and Eric Paull (eds.). Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B24 G854]
Lists and provides brief descriptions of a large number of works that include euphonium, as well as method books and orchestral excerpt books. Also includes lists of suggested repertoire, an extensive discography, a bibliography of euphonium literature, short biographies of composers of euphonium music, and more. Check Status

Guide to the Tuba Repertoire
By Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T88 M 2006]
Lists and provides brief descriptions of a large number of works that include tuba, as well as method books and orchestral excerpt books. Also includes an extensive discography. Check Status


Books for Tuba/Euphonium Technique

The Low Brass Guide
By John Griffiths. Allen Library [MT339 G85] Check Status

The Tuba Handbook
By J. Kent Mason. Allen Library [MT480 M39]
This resource discusses tuba technique, including breathing, embouchure, articulation, fingering, instrument selection, and more. Check Status


Finding Tuba/Euphonium Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Tuba solo
M95 - M99

Tuba and piano
M264 - M265

Tuba concertos (with band)
M1206

Tuba concertos (with orchestra)
M1035

Method Books - Tuba
MT482 - MT485

Orchestral Excerpts - Tuba
MT486

Euphonium Solo
M110 E8

Euphonium and Piano
M271

Euphonium concertos
M1035 (with orchestra) & M1206 (with band)


Periodicals

ITEA Journal


Websites

International Tuba-Euphonium Association
Official website of the ITEA.

Tuba-Euphonium Forum
Active discussions of euphonium- and tuba-related topics

TubeNet Forums
An active forum of discussion among tuba players about all things tuba.



Sections in this category: Books about Brass Instruments | Books for Brass Instrument Techniques | Books for Finding Music | Finding Brass Music in the Library | Periodicals | Websites

Books about Brass Instruments

Browse the Shelves: Books about Brass Instruments
ML933

Brass Anthology
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8]
A large collection of relatively brief articles from the journal Instrumentalist about brass instruments. Check Status

Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments
By Mark J. Fasman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 F3]
Though not comprehensive, this bibliography aids in locating resources on the topics of history and music literature, pedagogy, acoustics, construction, and more for all brass instrument types. Check Status

The Brass Instrument Owner's Handbook
Allen Library [ML933 P34 2016]
A book for both uninitiated and advanced players, it provides a roadmap for every step of the owning process from selecting and buying (or renting) to maintaining, repairing, modifying, upgrading, and even re-selling your instrument. The book also provides an instrument diary and in-depth glossary of terms. Check Status

Brass Instruments: Their History and Development
by Anthony Baines. Allen Library [ML933 B16]
A widely respected book in the field, especially for information about instrument design. Check Status

The Cambridge Companion to Brass Instruments
Edited by Trevor Herbert and John Wallace. Allen Library [ML933 C36]
Chapters are written by experts in the field and cover each major brass instrument, some non-Western brass, jazz, modern performance practice, and more. Check Status

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 C35 2019]
Covers the design, manufacture, performance, and history of brass instruments. Includes articles on every known brass instrument that has been regularly used, from all regions of the globe, from antiquity to modern times. Check Status

Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists
By Michael Meckna. Allen Library [ML399 M43]
Analyzes almost 100 prominent brass soloists of the 20th century, from both jazz and classical genres. Check Status

See more books about brass instruments


Books for Brass Instrument Techniques

The Brass Player's Cookbook
Allen Library. [MT418 B737]
A series of brief articles about a wide variety of practical issues relating to brass instruments, written by a number of significant brass instrument performers. Check Status

Developing Expression in Brass Performance and Teaching
By Gregory R. Jones. Allen Library [MT418 J65 2018]
Includes strategies for teaching both group and applied lessons to help instructors develop more expressive use of articulation, flexibility in sound production, and how to play with better intonation. Check Status

Good Vibrations: Masterclasses for Brass Players
By Randy C. Gardner. Allen Library Stacks [MT418 G37 G66 2016] Check Status


Books for Finding Music

Browse the Shelves: Books for Finding Brass Music
ML128 B8

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer. Check Status

Orchestral Excerpts: A Comprehensive Index
By Carolyn Rabson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O5 R2]
Indicates in which books excerpts for particular works can be found. Check Status


Finding Brass Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Other wind instrument and piano
M270 - M271

2 wind instruments and piano
M315 - M319

3 wind instruments and piano
M415 - M419

Brass quartets
M487 - M489

Method Books - Brass
MT418


Periodicals

Brass Bulletin

Historic Brass Society Journal

Instrumentalist

International Musician

Medical Problems of Performing Artists


Websites

Acoustics of Brass Instruments (The University of New South Wales)
An examination of the acoustics of brass instruments, including a number of explanatory graphics.

Historic Brass Society
The society's homepage listing events, publications, and related resources.

Robert King Music Sales
This site includes The Brass Players Guide, a searchable online database of more than 28,000 brass titles from various publishers worldwide from which you can order music.


Searching by Instrumentation
You can search the catalog for works of a particular instrumentation. Simply use the "Subject" and "Scores" limiters. See sample terms below. .



Subject terms generally follows a pattern, regardless of the instrument. Below are some sample terms that could be used in your search. Just replace the listed instrument(s) with the instrument(s) you want.
  • trumpet music [use this for a solo work, without any accompaniment]
  • sonatas trumpet
  • trumpet with piano [use this for solo work with accompaniment
  • trumpet and trombone music [use this for duets with different instruments]
  • trumpet music trumpets 2 [use this for duets for the same instrument]
  • concertos trumpet
  • Brass quintets [five brass instruments in a variety of combinations]
To determine other appropriate subject headings, look at the "related subjects" field in the catalog record for an an item with that instrumentation.


Omit all parentheses and dashes before searching. In the above example, you would search for brass quintets horn trombone trumpets 2 tuba.