Banking and Insurance Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Careers | Connecticut | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Statistics

General Resources

ACH Rules: A Complete Guide to Rules & Regulations Governing the ACH Network
Mortensen Library Reference HG2321 .A28 (University Affiliated patrons may get online Password from Mortensen Reference Office) Check Status

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73 Check Status

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002 Check Status

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition) Check Status

The ultimate business library : the greatest books that made management
Summary of resources that have had the most significant impact on management thinking.


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition) Check Status

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition) Check Status


Connecticut

Annual Report of the Banking Commissioner of the State of Connecticut for the Year Ended December 31
Years Covered: 2006 - Present
Annual Report of the Banking Commissioner of the State of Connecticut from 2006 to the present.

Banking, Securities, and Related Statutes and Regulations
Prepared by the Connecticut Department of Banking, available for free download.

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies Adopted by the Banking Commissioner
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies Adopted by the Banking Commissioner


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Campbell R. Harvey's Hyptertextual Finance Glossary
Brief definitions of over 3,600 terms, with links to related terms and to terms in definitions.

Collins Dictionary of Business
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of Financial Engineering
Terminology of risk management.

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
Mortensen Library Reference RA413 .D53 2006 Check Status

Encyclopedia of the European Union
The Encyclopedia of the European Union provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.


Statistics

Financial Services Fact Book (Insurance Information Institute)
Overview, discussion and statistics on the financial services industry.


ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.

ArXiv e-print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.

BNA Tax Management Portfolios
The BNA Tax and Accounting Center offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.

Checkpoint (RIA)
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

Emerald Fulltext
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Global Financial Data
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

Uniworld
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Connecticut | Statistics | Statistics- United States

General Resources

A.M.Best: The Insurance Information Source
Searchable database of basic ratings, company information and news on insurance companies and the industry. Registration required.

ABI World: American Bankruptcy Institute
News, statistics, legislation, etc. Regional as well as national coverage of bankruptcy issues.

American Banker Online
Up to date news and information on the financial services industry.

Bank for International Settlements
The aim of BIS is "to promote the cooperation of central banks and to provide additional facilities for international financial operations." See especially "Publications" for full text reports. Requires Adobe Acrobat.

Bank Information Center
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.

Bloomberg Online
Latest news and analysis. International coverage includes stocks, currency markets, bonds, etc. Some information restricted to subscribers.

The Corporate Library
The American Corporation and the Economy. Includes a searchable library, research tools, and extensive links to more information.

DividendDiscountModel.com
Access to the popular model used to value stocks. Quick calculations for specified company.

efinancial News
Online edition of the Newspaper. European focus. Free registration expands information available.

Ernst and Young International
Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.

Euromoney World Link
International finance and business information. Access to Euromoney and WorldLink magazines. Search or browse.

FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation)
News, laws, regulations, statistics and other information on the banking industry. Some information aimed at consumers. Searchable.

FDIC Industry Analysis
Financial and structural information on FDIC insured institutions. Updated quarterly

Fed in Print
Search by keyword, author, title, regional bank or date to identify economic research publications from the Federal Reserve. Some publications available online, others in print only.

Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
Regional information on economics, financial services, etc. Includes full text of selected publications, including statistical reports.

Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Regional information on economics, financial services, etc. Includes full text of selected publications, including statistical reports.

Federal Reserve Board
Background, text of reports, selected statistics and other publications.

Federal Reserve System Beige Book 2009
"Summary of commentary on current economic conditions by Federal Reserve Abstract". Provides regional analysis.

Federal Reserve System's National Information Center of Banking Information
Information on banks, savings and loans, credit unions, etc. regulated or supervised by the Fed. Includes financial information and corporate structure.

Gloria-Mundi
Comprehensive source on one method of financial risk management.

Kaiser Family Foundation Online
Surveys, research reports, Web links to additional information on health policy issues.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Searchable. See especially "Other Information Resources."

Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)
US government agency which helps US businesses invest overseas and fosters economic development in new and emerging markets.

Reform of Deposit Insurance (FDIC)
Information, reports, etc. on efforts to review and reform the deposit insurance system.

US Securities and Exchange Commission
Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site

World Bank
Economic information, research and statistics from the World Bank, its subsidiaries and member nations.

World Trade Organization
Information by and about the WTO.


Connecticut

CURE: Connecticut's BioScience Cluster
Information, news, employment links, etc. on an organization linking private and public organizations involved in bioscience research and development in Connecticut.


Statistics

BigCharts
Easy to use service creates charts to track US stocks, mutual funds, and major market indexes.

State Health Facts Online (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Single state or comparative data on demographics, health policy and financing, insurance coverage, legislation, etc. Also provides access to research conducted by the K.F.F.

WISQARS: Web-based Inquiry Statistics and Report
Database produces custom reports on injury mortality, by cause, state, age, race, etc.


Statistics- United States

Federal Reserve Board
Background, text of reports, selected statistics and other publications.

Federal Reserve Board Statistics
Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annually released data from the Fed, gathered in one place. Selected historical statistics also available.

Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.