If the Paintings Could Talk
Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.
Museum Careers: A Practical Guide For Students And Novices
Mortensen Library Reference AM7 .S27 2008
Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.
National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Reference [NX280 N3 2008] and more online
National Gallery companion guide
Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world, The National Gallery - London.
The Official Museum Directory
Mortensen Library Reference AM11.M98 C5
Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled.
See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
National Gallery Collection (London)
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made
National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.
Oxford Art Online
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.
Art Inventories Catalog (Smithsonian Institution)
Provides access to SIRIS, The Smithsonian Institution Research Information System, which includes a 300,000 record database maintained by the National Museum of American Art describing American paintings and sculptures.
ARTINFO: Art Sales Index
ARTINFO.com is the online destination of Louise Blouin Media, the world’s leading cultural media group. Its mission is to provide unparalleled access to the world of art and culture.
Networked resources on Art and Architecture with links to art journals online, electronic exhibits, image collections, vendor and organizational information.
While this site provides information about touring Williamsburg, there is a wealth of information regarding Colonial Virginian, the Founding Father, trades, and historic locations. There are also lesson plans about colonial America and a dateline.
The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library
A comprehensive listing of all the art works exhibited. Browse through over 120 selected items illustrated and accompanied by extensive annotations. Take a virtual tour of the Museum - Link with the Frick Research Library.
Getty Information Institute
Provides search access to a number of Getty databases, among them: The Art and Architecture Thesaurus, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, the International Repertory of the Literature of Art .
The Huntington Art Collections
One of the most important specialized art collections in the country, devoted primarily to British art of the 18th and early 19th century. Excellent images. Searchable.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
One of the major American Museums. Exhibitions and collections highlights plus the rapidly growing searchable
Collections Online already containing 18,000 images and 42,000 records of art objects from selected departments.
View permanent and temporary exhibits, take a tour, find information about publications, etc. Some information available only in French
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
In addition to information on exhibitions, program calendars, publications and holdings, this site offers access to the online catalogs for the museum's libraries and a selection of art links and access to over 400,000 high resolution images of their collection online for public use. In addition to keyword search, users may browse the collection by artist, method, geographic location, and date/era.
National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC
Visit the collections room by room, by medium and school. Tour current exhibitions. Search the collection by artist and/or title, or by subject. Expanded search available.
The State Hermitage Museum
Searchable site of one of the greatest museums of the world. Hundreds of high resolution, enlargeable images in a fast growing digital collection. Zoom in on details.
US Holocaust Memorial Museum
Expanding website devoted to Holocaust Studies, with links to historic photographs and archival resources. Features full text of U.S. efforts to recover gold and other assets stolen in World War II.
Virtual Instrument Museum
Online access to the Wesleyan World Instrument Museum. Gives information about each instrument's history, tuning, technique, notation, context, etc. This site is down as of 12/21/2017.