Sections in this category:
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.
The Art of Black American Women: Works of Twenty-four Artists of the Twentieth Century
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 H45 1993
Artist Biographies Master Index
Mortensen Library Reference N40.A78 1986
Artists Communities: a Directory of Residencies That Offer Time and Space for Creativity
Mortensen Library Reference NX110 .A767 2005
Bloomsbury Guide to Art
Comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive
Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts and many others.
Contemporary Women Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .C66 1999
Critical Terms for Art History
Critical Essays dealing with Art History and critical theories. Also own print Mortensen Library Shelves [N34 .C75 2003]
Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N6536.C8
Dictionnaire Critique et Documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs de Tous les Temps et de Tous les Pays
Mortensen Library Reference N40 .B47 1999
If the Paintings Could Talk
Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.
Jacobsen's Biographical Index of American Artists: Artists Native to the United States or Working in the United States from 1606 to 2002
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .J33 2002
Latin American Women Artists of the United States : the Works of 33 Twentieth-century Women
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.H58 H46 1999
Looking at Greek and Roman Sculptures in Stone: a Guide to Terms, Styles, and Technique
Mortensen Library Reference NB85 .G76 2003
Mantle Fielding’s Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors & Engravers
Mortensen Library Reference N51.F45 1986
Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.
Familiarizes the modern viewer with some of the best or most intriguing examples of Western narrative painting.
National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Reference [NX280 N3 2008] and more online
National Gallery companion guide
Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world, The National Gallery - London.
Oxford Companion to Western Art
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Oxford Companion to Western Art and search Companion only.
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Mortensen Library Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993
St. James Guide to Black Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N40 .S78 1997
Who’s Who in American Art
Mortensen Library Reference N51 .W62
Women Artists and Designers in Europe since 1800: an Annotated Bibliography
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .M33 1997
Women Artists in the United States: a Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .W65 1990
The Art Book
Mortensen Library Reference N33 .A575 1996 (Artists Dictionary with examples of their work)
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only
The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996
A Dictionary of Art Terms: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Engraving and Etching, Lithography and Other Art Processes, Heraldry
Mortensen Library Reference N33.H14
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009
Dictionary of Women Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .D53 1997
Dictionary of Women in Religious Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7793.W65 A66 1998
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
Covers every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass.