Sections in this category:
American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004
Anatomy of Exercise
Mortensen Library Reference GV461 .M36 2008
Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Older Adults
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .C65284 2006
Directory of Schools for Alternative and Complementary Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .D59 1998
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
Provides updated information about the health benefits of physical activity. It discusses the guidelines for physical activity in people of all ages and diverse fitness levels, including those with disabilities, chronic diseases, or other challenges
Healing Power of Chinese Herbs and Medicinal Recipes
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 H68 2004
Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012
Herbs, Spices, and Medicinal Plants
Mortensen Library Reference SB107 .H47 1986
Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001
Manual of Toxicologic Emergencies
Mortensen Library Reference RA1224.5 .G63 2007
Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
Provides the busy health care provider with detailed information for approximately 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements.
The Natural Pharmacy
Mortensen Library Reference RZ440 .N354 1999
PDR for Herbal Medicines
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 P37 2007
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs
Mortensen Library Reference RM671.A1 P48
Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference RA1215 .P65 2008
Psychedelic medicine: new evidence for hallucinogenic substances as treatments
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves (Ask at Circulation Desk) RM315 .P7423 2007
Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009
The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
Containing many up-to-date descriptions of drugs, this is the most authoritative, comprehensive guide available.
Understanding Medicinal Plants
Mortensen Library Reference RS164 .H276 2005
The Acupressure Atlas
Mortensen Library Reference RM723.A27 K6513 2007
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.
Baillière's midwives' dictionary
provides a thorough and reliable first point of information. Revised and updated throughout, the 11th edition provides support and clear, brief information on all key terms, from abdomen to zygote.
Black's Medical Dictionary
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.
Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.
The Complete Medicinal Herbal
The complete medicinal herbal
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 O38 1993
Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.
Dictionary of Mind and Body: Therapies, Techniques and Ideas in Alternative Medicine, the Healing Arts and Psychology
Mortensen Library Reference BF168 .W37 1996
International Dictionary of Homeopathy
Clear and up-to-date definitions and interpretations of concepts related to the principles and practice of homeopathy.
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.
Mosby’s Dictionary of Complementary & Alternative Medicine
A comprehensive glossary of numerous terms and 500 illustrations, along with 24 appendices, useful for any health professional in today's medical field.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
Known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.
Quick Reference Dictionary for Massage Therapy and Body Work
Mortensen Library Reference RM721 .D386 2005
Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.
Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.
The Alternative Health and Medicine Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .M38 1998
Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full four volumes of the 2014 edition encyclopedia which presents recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs. Includes information on efficacy and analysis of acceptance by "traditional" doctors. UofH only.
The Encyclopedia of Bodywork: From Acupressure to Zone Therapy
Mortensen Library Reference RZ999 .S82 1996
Encyclopedia of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .N38 2005
Encyclopedia of Complementary Health Practice
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .E525 1999
Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine: Old World and New World Traditions
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .H376 2004
DK Encyclopedia of Healing Therapies
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .W65 1997
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging
Mortensen Library Reference RA777.6 .E534 2007
Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine
Mortensen Library Reference RZ433 .M87 2012
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Search the full four volumes of the 2009 edition encyclopedia which presents recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs. Includes information on efficacy and analysis of acceptance by "traditional" doctors. UofH only.
Gale Encyclopedia of Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Reference Guide
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .L477 1997
Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Reference Guide
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .L477 1997
The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.
Human Diseases and Conditions
Mortensen Library Reference RC81.A2 H75 2000
An Illustrated Chinese Materia Medica
Mortensen Library Reference RS180.C5 W785 2005
Medical Encyclopedia Index
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.
Mosby’s Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements
With the increased usage of herbal therapies enjoyed by individuals, this handbook is packed with easy-to-find herbal information and is a must-have for any clinician.
Nutrients A to Z
Mortensen Library Reference QP141 .S56 2004
The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). NCCAM sponsors and conducts research using scientific methods and advanced technologies to study CAM. CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Full text is available.
ProQuest Biology Journals
The database includes over 300 biology titles, with more than 265 available in full text. ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset (Formerly IBIDS)
Provided by the National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements, this database provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals (Formerly IBIDS).
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.
Sections in this category:
Alternative Health News Online
Linkage to substantial conventional and alternative health pages.
Boston Healing Landscape Project (BHLP)
The BHLP explores cultural diversity in regards to healing and spirituality. Information on herbs, different ethnic and religious healing practices, bibliographies, and web links.
ACA seeks open access to and utilization of safe, effective, affordable, natural chiropractic care for all people.
The leading provider of independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.
Health United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).