Photo taken by Dave Kelley Allen Music Library Mortensen Library University Libraries University of Hartford
Subject Guides
UH Libraries Home  |  Subject Guide List  |  About Subject Guides  |  Suggest a Topic  |  Suggest a Resource
UHL Subject Guides
Web Search Tools

Web Search Tools

Databases



Google Book Search (beta)
http://books.google.com/

Search full text of books. Display page images of those in the public domain or provided by publishers; summaries of those covered by copyright. Books of interest may also be borrowed by UH students, faculty or staff through InterLibrary

Google Scholar
http://scholar.google.com

Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. UofH users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Google U.S. Government Search
http://www.google.com/ig/usgov

Specialized search engine looks only at .gov and .mil sites, to find information from the US Government.

OAIster
http://oaister.umdl.umich.edu/o/oaister

Searchable collection of academically-oriented digital resources in all subject areas. Includes online dissertations, conference papers, audio and video files, etc. A project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service. Full text available.

Broader Guides



Websites



Academic Info
http://www.academicinfo.net/

Search or browse directory of resources tailored to a college audience.

AllTheWeb
http://alltheweb.com/

Large, fast, and frequently updated search engine. Includes capabilities to limit search results by language or by type of source (images, video, newsgroups, etc).

Alta Vista
http://altavista.com/

Far reaching search engine. Select Advanced for powerful search options. Note that you may see up to two "Paid links" at top of search results. These are advertising and may not be the best links.

Ask.com
http://www.ask.com/

Ask a question in plain English and be guided toward sources of the answer.

Bare Bones 101 (University of South Carolina, Beaufort)
http://www.sc.edu/beaufort/library/pages/bones/bones.shtml

Series of short lessons that provide an excellent tutorial on effective use of search engines.

Beaucoup Search Engines
http://www.beaucoup.com/

Links to hundreds of search engines, indexes and directories. Including not only general engines, but search engines focused on subject areas or geographic regions.

The Best Information on the Net (BIOTN)
http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/

Librarian's guide to the best information on the net." Check especially "Hot Paper Topics" and "Important Sites by Major."

BUBL LINK
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/

Dewey Decimal subject based links to Web sites, concentrating on academic and research oriented sites. Selective rather than inclusive. Search engine also available.

Choose the Best Search for your Purpose
http://www.noodletools.com/debbie/literacies/information/5locate/adviceengine.html

Where to search for the best results, based on the kind of information you need.

Clusty
http://clusty.com

Meta search engine that organizes results into "clusters" which group similar items together.

Complete Planet
http://www.completeplanet.com/

Search engine for search engines and databases.

Digital Librarian
http://www.digital-librarian.com/

Directory, arranged by subject of hundreds of carefully selected sites.

Dogpile
http://www.dogpile.com/

Huge, meta-search engine that searches the Web via more than a dozen engines. Also can search Usenet and FTP. Provides links to weather, stock quotes, business and other news.

Evaluating Information
http://library.hartford.edu/tutorial/part8.htm

Part of the University of Hartford Information Skills Tutorial. Brief outline with links to additional sources.

Evaluating Information Found on the Internet (Johns Hopkins University)
http://www.library.jhu.edu/researchhelp/general/evaluating/index.html

Detailed discussion of issues. Includes links to many related pages.

Evaluation Criteria
http://lib.nmsu.edu/instruction/evalcrit.html

Checklist, linked to examples, for evaluating information found on the Web.

Excite
http://www.excite.com

Offers both the concept-based and keyword-based search.

Finding Data on the Internet: A Journalist's Guide
http://nilesonline.com/data/

Annotated links to carefully selected sites. Arranged by subject. For journalists, but for anyone seeking a broad range of information.

Finding Information on the Internet: A Tutorial
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/FindInfo.html

What it is, what's there, how to find it, how to evaluate it.

Google
http://www.google.com/

Very large, fast search engine with minimal graphics and clearly identified advertising. Relevancy ranking. Note that the system puts an 'and' between words. Phrases must be included in quotation marks.

Google Groups
http://groups.google.com/

Search usenet postings, find groups to post to. Be sure to check facts from postings. Also links to peer ratings of products, shopping, etc.

Grokker
http://www.grokker.com

Yahoo search results presented graphically in categories rather than in a text list.

HotBot
http://www.hotbot.com

Search can be limited to provide enhanced precision.

How to evaluate information - Checklist
http://www.virtualchase.com/quality/checklist_print.html

Checklist designed for legal professional but useful for anyone. Includes links to useful sites and to examples. Part of The Virtual Chase.

INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
http://infomine.ucr.edu/

Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.

Internet 101
http://www.internet101.org/

Multi-part course introduces the net, browsing, email, FTP, etc.

Internet Detective
http://www.vts.intute.ac.uk/detective/

Tutorial using "private eye" to introduce effective searching and evaluation of information on the Web. Part of the Intute Virtual Training Suite in support of UK universities and colleges.

Librarians' Index to the Internet
http://lii.org

Search or browse by category through web sites selected by public librarians for quality and accuracy.

Mamma
http://www.mamma.com/

Search up to seven search engines simultaneously. Results ranked for relevancy.

Maporama
http://www.maporama.com/share/

Street level maps for fifteen European nations as well as the US and most of Canada. Put in an address and go.

Mapquest
http://www.mapquest.com/

Maps, driving directions, trip planning, etc.

Open Directory Project
http://dmoz.org//

Unique search engine uses volunteers to find, annotate, and categorize web sites. Provides both search and browse features.

Pandia Goalgetter
http://www.pandia.com/goalgetter/

Multipart tutorial on using search engines effectively. Estimated 30 minutes to complete, or choose specific sections of interest.

Pandia Search Central
http://www.pandia.com/

Fast search engine, as well as links to a searching tutorial, specialized search engines, and advice on search engine marketing and optimization for e-commerce.

Search Engine Showdown
http://www.searchengineshowdown.com/

Frequently updated source of news, information, and evaluation of web search engines. See especially the Features Chart, which summarizes features of the major engines and links to reviews.

SearcheBooks.com
http://www.searchebooks.com/

Search the full text of thousands of online books. Results link to both the text and the provider.

Searching and Researching on the Internet and the World Wide Web
http://www.webliminal.com/search/index.html

Tutorials on finding specific kinds of information online, as well as links to selected sources.

Searching the Web (University of Oregon Library)
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/guides/searchweb/

How tos, descriptions, and links to search engines and web subject directories.

Searchling
http://www.searchling.com/

Java empowered metasearch engine. Quickly searches Exite, Altavista, Infoseek, HotBot and Lycos simultaneously.

Security Response: Hoaxes (Symantec)
http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/hoax.html

Information about Internet hoaxes, most of which are spread as e-mail. Continuously updated alphabetical list.

Slider
http://www.slider.com/index.htm

Directory of Web links arranged in "folders". Also links to Columbia Encyclopedia online (1994/95 ed) and provides basic Web search capability.

snap.com
http://www.snap.com

Searchable subject directory of web sites.

The Spire Project
http://spireproject.com/

Guide to doing research using both the Internet and more traditional tools. "Articles" include links to sources.

Top of the Web: Quick Access
http://www.december.com/web/top/

Selected, annotated links to Web sites, arranged in broad categories.

Virtual Training Suite
http://www.vts.intute.ac.uk/

Link to tutorials on using the Web for subject-specific research. Designed for students and teachers. British slant.

Web Search Strategies
http://www.learnwebskills.com/search/main.html

Tutorial on how to develop search strategies and to best use the search engines and directories to find information.

Webcrawler
http://webcrawler.com/

Search or surf Channels.

Yahoo
http://www.yahoo.com/

Access via keyword searches, or browse by category.

Broader Guides