Photo taken by Dave Kelley Allen Music Library Mortensen Library University Libraries University of Hartford
Subject Guides
UH Libraries Home  |  Subject Guide List  |  About Subject Guides  |  Suggest a Topic  |  Suggest a Resource
UHL Subject Guides
Theatre

Theatre

Books


General Resources | Biographies | Criticism and Reviews | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Indexes to Plays | Plot Outlines and Characters

  General Resources

Acting with an Accent
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=108109

By David Stern. Allen Library A/V [MX PE1712 S77]

Cambridge Guide to Theatre
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/108

Information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world.

The Cambridge History of American Theatre. Ed. by Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 1998-.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=237005

Mortensen Library Shelves [PN2221 C37 1998]

Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/631

Coverage includes individuals--performers, playwrights, directors, designers, choreographers, composers--theater companies, countries, trends and genres.

Dictionary of Shakespeare
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/127

A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works.

Humanities Index. [New York:] H.W.Wilson Co., 1974-. v.1-.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=112575

Mortensen Library Reference [Index/Absts.] AI3 .H8 (1974 - 2009)

Regional Theatre Directory
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=273807

By Jill Charles. Allen Library Reference [REF PN2289 R44 2001]





Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1988-.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=167393

Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN610 C53 v.1-107]; Now online at Gale Reference Center

Contemporary Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1973-.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=101289

Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN771 R53 v.1-178]; Now online at Gale Reference Center

Rollyson, Carl, ed. Critical Survey of Drama. 2nd rev. ed. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, c2003.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=261419

Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN 1625 C68 2003]

Salem, James M. A Guide to Critical Reviews. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1973-77.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=188836

Mortensen Library Shelves [Z5782 S342]

Literary Criticism from 1400 to 1800. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1984-.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=134707

Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN86 L53 v.1-159]; Now online at Gale Reference Center

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1981-.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=104227

Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN761 N5 v.1-50]; Now online at Gale Reference Center

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1978-.
http://hartford-staff.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/catalogue/detail.pl?biblionumber=83768

Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN771 G27 v.1-213]; Now online at Gale Reference Center



The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/380

Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://dictionary.oed.com/entrance.dtl

Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of useage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.

Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/620

Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.









Call Numbers



Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

PA

Classical Languages and Literatures

PJ

Oriental Philology

PN

General Literature

PQ

Romance Literatures

PR, PS

English and American Literature

PT

Germanic Literatures



Databases



Academic OneFile
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/itx/dispAdvSearch.do?prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Academic Search Premier
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=a3h

Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=GLD

Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Expanded Academic ASAP
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=EAIM

General database covering all subject areas. Primarily academic journals, many full text and some with images.

Film & Television Literature Index
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=fah

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts only.

Historical New York Times
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=U01EPTEmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFBQ0Q@&clientId=3309

Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..

JSTOR Arts and Sciences I
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org

Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic

Legal, Business and News Resources. Legal: US Code, Law Reviews, and other Legal Research. Business: Hoover's Company Records, Business News, Trade Journals. News: National and International, Major and Minor, Newspapers in Full Text

Literature Resource Center
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=LitRC

Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Selected full text available.

MLA Bibliography
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://collections.chadwyck.com/home/home_mla.jsp

International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

ProQuest Newspapers
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=U0ZEPTEmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPUc1&clientId=3309

Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.worldshakesbib.org/

Annotated bibliography of scholarly and popular materials on Shakespeare.

WorldCat
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&done=referer

Available through FirstSearch, the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.



Periodicals



The below periodicals may be found either online or in print format. To see if a periodical is available in print format, do a Title search in our Library Catalog. To see if a periodical is available online, search for the title in eJournals AtoZ.

Aisle Say


American Drama
http://find.galegroup.com/itx/infomark.do?&serQuery=Locale(en%2CUS%2C)%3AFQE%3D(jx%2CNone%2C16)%22American+Drama%22%24&type=pubIssues&queryType=PH&prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh&version=1.0

Online (2002-2007)

American Theatre
http://find.galegroup.com/itx/infomark.do?&serQuery=Locale(en%2CUS%2C)%3AFQE%3D(jx%2CNone%2C18)%22American+Theatre%22%24&type=pubIssues&queryType=PH&prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh&version=1.0

Online (1993-present); Mortensen Library Periodicals PN2000 .A437 (1985-1996)

Applied Theatre Researcher


Back Stage


Canadian Theatre Review


Comparative Drama


CurtainUp


Drama


Dramatics


International Journal of Arts Management online | print format


Modern Drama


Modern International Drama


New Theatre Quarterly


New York Times Theater Reviews


Performing Arts Journal print format


Performing Arts Review print format


Playbill Online


Renaissance Drama


Shakespeare Quarterly


TDR: The Drama Review


Theatre (Yale School of Drama)


Theatre History Studies


Theatre Journal


Theatre Research International


Theatre Topics


Variety online | print format




Subject Headings



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Acting


Ballet


Clothing and dress


Comedy


Costume


Dialogue


Drama


English [French, etc.] drama


Fashion


Make-up


Method acting


Monologue


Movement acting


One-act plays


Performing arts


Stage


Stage lighting


Stage management


Theater


Theaters




Websites


General Resources | Career Guides | Comprehensive Sites | Encyclopedias | Funding | Medicine & Health | Plays & Scripts | Specialized Sites | Theatrical Design

  General Resources

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/amhome.html

Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

Broadway Theater Online
http://www.broadwaytheater.com/

Lists current productions on and off Broadway as well as a history of Broadway.

Center for Arts Management and Technology
http://camt.artsnet.org/aboutCAMT/tabid/112/Default.aspx

Information on the use of technology in arts management.

Current Jobs
http://www.graduatejobs.com/

National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.

Internet Broadway Database
http://www.ibdb.com/

Created by the League of American Theatres and Producers' research department, this site provides information about past and current Broadway shows. Based primarily on theater programs as well as media reports and interviews.

Inter-Play
http://www.lib.pdx.edu/systems/interplay/

International in scope, this index locates plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals published any time from the late 19th century through the current year.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/

Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/

All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

Music Theatre International
http://www.mtishows.com/

Web site of a major licensing company which provides information and links to many theatrical resources: licensing and production information, study guides, scores, musicals database, etc.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
http://www.netserf.org/

Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

The Online Communicator
http://www.online-communicator.com/toppage.html

Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.

UCLA E-Resources
http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm

Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

WWW Virtual Library
http://vlib.org/Overview.html

Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.



Career Guides
http://library.hartford.edu/WRT/wrtname.asp?database_category=Career+Guides&Submit=Submit

This lengthy list of web sites includes those with information about searching for a job and sites listing available jobs in all fields. Maintained by Mortensen Library.

Current Jobs in Performing Arts
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.graduatejobs.com

National employment bulletin for the performing arts professions. Updated monthly. UH access only.

NYFA Interactive
http://www.artswire.org/

This New York Foundation for the Arts site lists Jobs in the Arts and Opportunities for Artists.

R&R Jobs!
http://www.radioandrecords.com/Resources/Jobs.asp

Listing of national positions in radio and broadcasting.

WESTAF ArtJob
http://www.artjob.com/

A fee-for-service of the Western States Arts Federation, ArtJob lists full- and part-time employment, internships, grants, public art projects, residencies which can be searched by region, art discipline, type of organization, Federation, etc. This is a free site, but registration is required.



Alliance of Artists Community
http://www.artistcommunities.org/index.html

Service organization for the field of artists’ communities. Lists residences in the performing and media arts and opportunities for interdiscplinary collaboration; offers workshops, research, financial resources, and advocacy.

Artslynx International Theatre Resources
http://www.artslynx.org/theatre/

This comprehensive site includes links to theatre libraries and research resources, publications, organizations, children's theatre, ethnic theatre, playwrighting and directing, jobs, and more.

A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
http://www.stetson.edu/artsci/csata/custom/thr_guid.html

Maintained by Prof. Ken McCoy of Stetson University, this is an extensive site of general and theater resources.

Infomine Scholarly Internet Resource Collections: Visual & Performing Arts
http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?arts

Maintained by the University of California, this is an annotated search and browse virtual library containing a wide variety of information on performing arts subjects.

Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
http://www.lincolncenter.org/

Comprehensive site that includes information about resident companies, festivals, broadcasts, programs, box office, etc.

New York Public Library: CATNYP
http://catnyp.nypl.org/

Search the Research Libraries Online Catalog.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia
http://loc.gov/performingarts/encyclopedia

Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress, such as Women in the Performing Arts. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.

Theatre History on the Web
http://www.videoccasions-nw.com/history/jack.html

Maintained by Jack Wolcott (retired, School of Drama, University of Washington), this site contains directories of scholarly sites, categorized by era and type.

WWW Virtual Library for Theatre and Drama
http://vl-theatre.com/

From the World Wide Web Virtual Library, this site includes links to theatre companies and festivals, image collections, studies and archival texts.



Performing Arts Encyclopedia
http://loc.gov/performingarts/encyclopedia

Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress, such as Women in the Performing Arts. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.





Alexander Technique
http://www.life.uiuc.edu/jeff/alextech.html

Includes a full description of the technique, recommended publications, and links to societies.

Coping with Performance Anxiety
http://www.engr.unl.edu/eeshop/anxiety.html

Articles about performance anxiety.

International Arts Medicine Association
http://members.aol.com/iamaorg/index.html

The IAMA home page has a good list of links to related sites.

Performing Arts Medicine at Ithaca College
http://www.ithaca.edu/hshp/pt/pt1/

Developed by Ithaca College's School of Health Science and Human Performance and the School of Music, this site has links to various topics of interest where you will find informative articles.



Complete Works of William Shakespeare
http://www-tech.mit.edu/Shakespeare/works.html

The web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare, including internet resources, a discussion area, quotations, and a glossary.

Drama Book Shop
http://dramabookshop.com/

Searchable database of scripts in stock at The Drama Book Shop.

Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
http://www.dramatists.com/

This site is handy for identifying and purchasing specific plays. Users can apply for licenses online. Search by cast size, gender, length, keyword, author, title. Includes links to web sites on acting, costuming, and regional theater.

Internet Classics Archive
http://classics.mit.edu//

This site is an award-winning, searchable collection of over 400 classical Greek and Latin texts (in English translation) with user-provided commentary and trivia sections.

Inter-play
http://www.lib.pdx.edu/systems/interplay/

An on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals.

Samuel French, Inc.
http://www.samuelfrench.com/

Published scripts, ranging from Broadway and England's West End to unsolicited scripts submitted by unpublished authors. Their sales catalogue includes monologues, audition material, classroom guides, classic works, and the latest plays from the professional theater.



Awards
http://www.playbill.com/theatrecentral/sites/category/2023

Available via Theatre Central on the Playbill Online site, this page includes links to the Connecticut Critics Circle, Drama Desk, Obie, Outer Critics, Olivier, Pulitzer, Tony, and other awards.

CastingAudition.com
http://www.castingaudition.com/

Free online database.

Didaskalia: ancient theater today
http://www.didaskalia.net

Contains a wealth of information about the roots and the modern uses of ancient drama and theater, organized into easily accessible sections providing links to ancient production techniques; digitalized reconstructions of ancient theaters; schedules, articles, and reviews of modern productions of classic texts; and conferences.

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/

A comprehensive site that provides links to online scholarly resources as well as new Shakespeare materials, such as a geneology, a time line, information about the Shakespeare canon, and a biography quiz.

New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/fedtp/fthome.html

This online presentation includes over 3,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period. Additional documents from the collection will be added.

Stage Agent
http://www.stageagent.com/

Constructed and maintained by Stanford University students and alumni, this site offers national coverage for show synopses and castings, current production listings, a udition and callback announcements, classified ads, and a bulletin board.

UK Theatre Web
http://www.uktw.co.uk/

Although not an easy site to navigate, the UK Theatre Web has current and comprehensive coverage of theatre in Britain. Includes links to ticketing, competitions, festivals, agents, jobs, gossip, consultants, supplies, etc.

vasta.org
http://www.vasta.org/

Web site of the Voice and Speech Trainers Association, Inc. includes information about conferences, vocal coaches, and publications.



New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
http://digital.nypl.org/mmpco/

A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.