Photo taken by Dave Kelley Allen Music Library Mortensen Library University Libraries University of Hartford
Subject Guides
UH Libraries Home  |  Subject Guide List  |  About Subject Guides  |  Suggest a Topic  |  Suggest a Resource
UHL Subject Guides
Dance

Dance

Books



Biographical Dictionary of Dance
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=210363

By Barbara Naomi Cohen-Stratyner. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1785 A1 C67]

Core Collection in Dance
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=254904

Edited by Mary E. Edsall. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1594 E38 C67]

Dance Encyclopedia
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=122963

Compiled by Anatole Chujoy. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 C55 1967]

International Dictionary of Ballet, 2 vols.
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=223257

Edited by Martha Bremser. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I57 1993]

International Dictionary of Modern Dance
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=232713

Edited by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I572 1998]

International Encyclopedia of Dance
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=236287

Edited by Selma Jeanne Cohen. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I58 v.1-6]

The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-search.pl?q=The+JVC+Video+Anthology+of+World+Music+and+Dance

By Nihon Bikuta Kabushiki Kaisha. Allen Library A/V [MX1627 J32 v.1-30]

The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of the Americas
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=203938

By Horoaki Ohta, Katsumori Ichikawa, Yuji Ichihashi, and Nihon Bikuta¯ Kabushiki Kaisha. Allen Library A/V [MVML 3549 J3 v.1-6]

Oxford Dictionary of Dance
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=273252

By Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 C74 O93]

Tap Dance Dictionary
http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=237145

By Mark Knowles. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1794 K66 T3]



Call Numbers



Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

BF630s

Aesthetics of Movement

BL

Liturgical Dance

GV1600s

Dance - by country

GV1785

Biographies

GV1787

Ballet

PN

Dance as Performing Art

RC/RJ

Dance Therapy



Databases



Academic OneFile
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/itx/dispAdvSearch.do?prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Academic Search Premier
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=a3h

Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CAIRSS for Music
http://imr.utsa.edu/CAIRSS.html

CAIRSS (Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System) is a bibliographic database containing more than 16,000 citations from over 1,350 journals in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Index only.

CINAHL
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cin20

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Expanded Academic ASAP
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=EAIM

General database covering all subject areas. Primarily academic journals, many full text and some with images.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic

Legal, Business and News Resources. Legal: US Code, Law Reviews, and other Legal Research. Business: Hoover's Company Records, Business News, Trade Journals. News: National and International, Major and Minor, Newspapers in Full Text

WorldCat
http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&done=referer

Available through FirstSearch, the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.



Periodicals



The below periodicals may be found either online or in print format. To see if a periodical is available in print format, do a Title search in our Library Catalog. To see if a periodical is available online, search for the title in eJournals AtoZ.

Attitudes & Arabesques


Ballet Alert! Online


Ballet Review


Choreography and Dance


Contact Quarterly


Dance Chronicles


Dance International


Dance Magazine


Dance News Annual


Dance on a Line


Dance Perspectives


Dance Research Journal


Dance Teacher


Dancing Times


JOPERD: Journal of Physical Ed., Recreation & Dance


Journal of Dance Education


Journal of Dance Medicine and Science


PAJ: A Journal of Performance & Art


Performing Arts Journal print format


Performing Arts Review print format


Pointe


Research in Dance Education




Subject Headings



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Ballet


Ballet Dancers


Ballet History


Dance


Dance History


Dance Notation


Dance Therapy


Dancers


Folk dance music


Movement Therapy


Performing arts




Websites


General Resources | Comprehensive Sites | Costume | Dance Collections | Dance Companies | Dance Organizations | Encyclopedias | Funding | Medicine & Health

  General Resources

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/amhome.html

Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

Current Jobs
http://www.graduatejobs.com/

National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.

UCLA E-Resources
http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm

Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

Voice of the Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/index-netscape.asp

Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.



Alliance of Artists Community
http://www.artistcommunities.org

Service organization for the field of artists’ communities. Lists residences in the performing and media arts and opportunities for interdiscplinary collaboration; offers workshops, research, financial resources, and advocacy.

Artslynx International Dance Resources
http://www.artslynx.org/dance/

This comprehensive site includes links to university dance departments, organizations, publications, research and scholarship, book and video suppliers, international competition sites, school and studio directories, health resources, employment resources, world and ethnic information and sources of funding.

Dance Links
http://www.dancer.com/dance-links/index.php

Short but focused, this site includes links to dance companies, schools and organizations throughout the world. It also includes links to dance-related newsgroups, publications, and FAQs.

EUDRID
http://www.c3.hu/~dienesbu/

Information about dance in Europe, organized by country.

Infomine Scholarly Internet Resource Collections: Visual & Performing Arts
http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?arts

Maintained by the University of California, this is an annotated search and browse virtual library containing a wide variety of information on performing arts subjects.

Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
http://www.lincolncenter.org/

Comprehensive site that includes information about resident companies, festivals, broadcasts, programs, box office, etc.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia
http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/encyclopedia

Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress, such as Women in the Performing Arts. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.

Renaissance Dance
http://www.rendance.org/

Includes list of primary and secondary sources online as well as companies, workshops, teachers, etc.

Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
http://www.sapphireswan.com/dance/

Directory of dance resources on the web. Links are provided to sites with other collections of links, sites that have good information about an area of dance, and selected sites of dance organizations and individual dancers. Includes links to jobs and competitions.

Voice of Dance
http://www.voiceofdance.org/

Includes news articles; multimedia; Q&A columns with top dance professionals; recommendations for books, videos, and music; and employment listings.



Bissonnette on Costume
http://dept.kent.edu/museum/costume/

Geographic, Time and Subject searches are available on this Kent State University Museum web site.

Costume Page
http://www.costumepage.org/

A comprehensive index of costume and costuming-related links. There are well over 2,000 unique links listed on these pages. Some of them cover more than one area of interest.

The Costumer’s Manifesto
http://www.costumes.org/history/100pages/costhistpage.htm

Organized by chronological period, from pre-historic through the present.



American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/dihtml/dihome.html

This site presents a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. Along with dance instruction manuals, this online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, and items from other conceptual categories.

Australian Dance Collection: a Directory of Resources
http://www.australiadancing.org/

Catalog of the National Library of Australia. Entries have two components: an historical note/brief biography and a descriptive list of individual items for that entry. These include film and video; oral history/audio items; manuscript materials; pictorial/photographic materials; programs, posters and other items of ephemera.

Library of Congress Present Music, Theatre and Dance
http://www.loc.gov/rr/perform/ihas

Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress. Use the advanced search screen to find dance materials in its collections and in a variety of formats, including databases, online presentations, videos, exhibits, and finding aids.

New York Public Library: The Dance Collection
http://www.nypl.org/research/lpa/dan/dan.html

Provides access to their catalog as well as dance resources on the internet, including festivals, competitions, schools, periodicals, research resources, grants, and computer applications for dance.



Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater
http://www.alvinailey.org/


American Ballet Theatre
http://www.abt.org/

The ABT's homepage includes information about their New York season, their Repertory Archives, dancer biographies, and pictures.

Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company
http://www.billtjones.org/


Full Force Dance Theatre
http://www.fullforcedance.org

Directed by Katie Stevinson-Nollet, the FFDT has presented modern dance since 1992. Site includes its workshops and audition dates.

Mark Morris Dance Group
http://markmorrisdancegroup.org/


Merce Cunningham Dance Company
http://www.merce.org/


New York City Ballet
http://www.nycballet.com/

The NYC Ballet's home page is a comprehensive searchable site with detailed information about repertory and dancers, and reference tools including bibliographies, discographies, workout books, and links to other useful sites. Includes schedule and ticket information.

Royal Ballet
http://www.ballet.co.uk/links/royal_ballet.htm


San Francisco Ballet
http://www.sfballet.org/




American Dance Therapy Association
http://www.adta.org/

Includes information about the association, educational programs, and links to related sites.

Congress in Research and Dance
http://www.cordance.org/

Includes information about awards, conferences, and CORD news as well as archives, their newsletter, and links to dance sites.

Connecticut Dance Alliance
http://www.ctdanceall.com/

Connecticut's state-wide dance organization provides performance opportunities, marketing, support for professional development, an e-newsletter and calendar.

Dance Heritage Coalition
http://www.danceheritage.org/

A coalition of major dance collections that focuses on access to materials, documentation of dance, preservation of existing documentation, and education. Includes many helpful links.

Dance Notation Bureau
http://www.dancenotation.org/DNB/index.html

Information about the Labanotation system of dance notation

Dance/USA
http://www.danceusa.org/

National service organization for professional dance. Provides information about companies, jobs and auditions, presenters, service organizations, summer festivals, community programs, publications, meetings.

National Dance Association
http://www.aahperd.org/nda/template.cfm?template=main.html

Involved with dance education, this site has useful information about dance publications, programs, events, and awards.

Society of Dance History Scholars
http://www.sdhs.org/

Provides information about the society, including membership, publications, conferences, awards, and online resources.



Performing Arts Encyclopedia
http://loc.gov/performingarts/encyclopedia

Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress, such as Women in the Performing Arts. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.





Alexander Technique
http://www.life.uiuc.edu/jeff/alextech.html

Includes a full description of the technique, recommended publications, and links to societies.

Coping with Performance Anxiety
http://www.engr.unl.edu/eeshop/anxiety.html

Articles about performance anxiety.

International Arts Medicine Association
http://www.iamaonline.org/LINKAM.html

The IAMA home page has a good list of links to related sites.

International Association for Dance Medicine & Science
http://www.iadms.org/

Information and links related to the medical, scientic and educational activities of dancers.

Performing Arts Medicine at Ithaca College
http://www.ithaca.edu/hshp/pt/pt1/

Developed by Ithaca College's School of Health Science and Human Performance and the School of Music, this site has links to various topics of interest where you will find informative articles.