Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
University of Hartford
Academics About U OF H
Admission Visiting Campus
Student Life Libraries
Alumni Public Purpose
News Arts & Events
Athletics Giving to U of H



Arts & Sciences, College of

The College of Arts and Sciences was the name given to the liberal arts department of the University of Hartford when the original Hillyer College, the Hartt School of Music, and Hartford Art School merged to form the University. It continues to be the main   Go


Barney School of Business

The Barney School of business is one of the seven colleges within the University of Hartford. The School offers seven undergraduate and three graduate degree programs in business. In 1958, the departments of Hillyer College were reorganized into four  Go


Education, Nursing and Health Professions, College of

The College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions (ENHP) grew rapidly under the name College of Education after the founding of the University of Hartford. When the school expanded to include courses in the health professions, its name changed to ENHP.  Go


Engineering, Technology and Architecture, College of

Since its founding, this college has expanded to offer courses in all phases of engineering including acoustics, biomedical, civil computer, electrical, environmental, and mechanical. In 2003 the College of Engineering merged with the Ward College of Technology to Go


Hartford Art School

The Hartford Art School was originally founded in 1877 as the Decorative Arts Society of Hartford. The school became one of the three schools that came together in 1957 to form the University of Hartford.  Go


Hartford College for Women

Hartford College for Women (HCW) played an important part in the history of higher education for women in the US and was one of the finest providers of single sex education in its day. The college began as "Mt. Holyoke in Hartford" to provide the first two Go


Hartt School, The

The Hartt School was one of the three schools that merged in 1957 to form the University of Hartford.  Go


Hillyer College (original)

Hillyer College was one of three colleges that joined together in 1957 to form the University of Hartford. Beginning as an evening extension program at the Hartford YMCA, and evolving as Hillyer Junior College in the 1940s, Hillyer had grown by the late 1950s into a Go


University of Hartford Early History Collection

The University of Hartford grew out of the merger in 1957 of three smaller institutions: Hillyer College, Hartt School of Music and Hartford Art School. In March 1958, a three-ton anchor from the USS Hartford arrived at the University's new campus.  Go


University Timeline

Choose a time period from 1957 through 1997 and capture text, photos and videos of highlighted events from the University of Hartford archives.  Go

More information

Red Impact Bar